null The period to participate in the summer scientific campus is opened.

The period to participate in the summer scientific campus is opened.

24 mar 2017

Campus Mare Nostrum, which will be held this year in Cartagena, will  receive (2-29 July) 120 students from 4th year of secondary level and 1st year of high school of the whole national territory in the eight edition of the Summer Scientific Campus.

The application deadline to participate in the different Works of  the Technical University of Cartagena and the University of Murcia, which last year were the second most demanded in the country, will be extended until next Friday, 24th March at 2.00 p.m hours.

In this edition, the public universities of the Region of Murcia, within the framework of the International Campus of Excellence Mare Nostrum, bid the projects «El misterio de la luz de las estrellas» (The mystery of the starlight), «El transporte sostenible del futuro desde la energía del Sol» (The sustainable transport of the future from the solar energy), «El agua en ingeniería civil aplicada al desarrollo urbano» (Water in civil engineering applied to the urban development) and «La resolución científica de los delitos: la importancia de las ciencias forenses» (Scientific resolution of crimes: the importance of forensic science).

In four shifts during 7 days, the students involved will have the opportunity to enjoy a comprehensive programme which includes film forums, visiting museums and meetings with scientists, disseminators and politicians, as well as other leisure and sports activities, such as trips to La Manga, tours around La Unión mines or night catamaran sailing.

The Summer Scientific Campus is a Ministry of Education, Culture and Sport initiative as well as The Ministry of Economy, Industry and Competitiveness and the Spanish Foundation for Science and Technology (La Fundación Española para la Ciencia y la Tecnología. FECYT). In addition, the event is sponsored by Obra Social “La Caixa” and is being developed simultaneously in sixteen International Campus of Excellence.

Further information at